by Richard Hamblen

Q: When a character executes the first of two MOVE phases to enter a Mountain Clearing, does he move halfway to the Mountain Clearing or does he stay where he is? If he stays, can he be Blocked there before doing the second MOVE?
A: He stays where he is and he can be Blocked after the first move.
Q: When a character on a pony starts his turn by using a MOVE phase to move two Clearings, can he Block or be Blocked m the first Clearing he enters?
A: Yes.
Q: Can a character HIDE and remain hidden if he does other activities (such as SEARCH)?
A: Yes.

Q: Is the Swordsman's BARTER ability to roll one die whenever he trades (as indicated on his card) or to subtract one from the die roll each time he rolls (as stated m the rulebook)?
A: Oops! The card is right; he rolls one die without subtracting.
Q: How many times a day can the Captain use his REPUTATION to get an extra phase in a Dwelling?
A: He gets only one extra phase per day.
Q: Is PEACE WITH NATURE mandatory for the Druid or can he choose to ignore it?
A: It is mandatory.
Q: How does the Druid's PEACE WITH NATURE work when there are other characters in his tile?
A: PEACE WITH NATURE does not prevent monsters from appearing at the end of other players' turns, only at the end of the Druid's turn. If the Druid moved in first no monsters would appear then, but when the other characters arrived they would trigger monsters normally.
Q: Can the PILGRIM Block or be Blocked by Demons and the Imp?
A: He can Block them but they cannot Block him.
Q: It seems that when the Witch King is using MAGIC SIGHT he cannot find horse counters and he must roll a '1' result to find hidden paths or secret passages. Is this correct?
A: Yes
Q: Can the Witch King (or any other character who is using MAGIC SIGHT) draw Treasures or Spells from a Treasure location pile if he has not found that Treasure location and crossed it off?
A: No. You must have crossed the location off to be 'at' it

Q: Can I attack with my weapon even if it is unready?
A: Yes.
Q: Then what good does it do to ready my weapon?
A: Bows and spears inflict more damage when they are readied; being ready does not affect the other weapons unless optional rule 2.1 (Weapon Times) is being used. (Spears inflict 'Negligible' damage when unready.)
Q: In Combat, am I limited to attacking one of the monsters, natives and characters who are attacking me?
A: No. You can attack someone who is not attacking you, if you wish.
Q: What happens when two (or more) weapons with the same speed and length simultaneously strike the same piece of armor?
A: Both (all) of the attacks inflict damage on the armor, but both (all) of the attacks count as hitting the armor - not the character carrying the armor. EXAMPLE: Four Heavy attacks hit a Medium shield simultaneously. The shield is destroyed and the target character takes four wounds, but no damage is inflicted on the character or any other armor he is wearing.
Q: What happens if I hit a target who is dead by the time my attack is resolved (because he was killed by someone else's attack that was resolved first)?
A: Your attack inflicts no damage and you get no credit for the kill, but it is still a hit and your weapon is unready for the next Round of Combat.
Q: When a character is wounded and must remove a counter from play, exactly what kind of counters can he remove?
A: The character can remove any MOVE, FIGHT, MAGIC. DUCK or BERSERK counter he has m play as long as he did not play it during that Round of Combat. If all of his combat counters in play were used during that Round, then he must remove one of the counters he played. If all of the character's counters are wounded or fatigued, he must change one of his fatigued counters into a wound.
Q: How do I determine whether I must remove a counter due to fatigue during combat?
A: At the end of each Round of Combat add up the asterisks on the FIGHT and MOVE counters you played that Round; if you played two MOVE asterisks you must remove a MOVE counter, if you played two FIGHT asterisks you must remove a FIGHT counter, if you played one MOVE asterisk and one FIGHT asterisk you must remove either a FIGHT or MOVE counter, as you choose. If you played only one asterisk or none you do not fatigue that Round.
Q: What counter do I remove when I fatigue?
A: You can remove any counter you have in play, as long as it is the right type and has at least one asterisk on it. If you remove a counter with two asterisks you can 'make change' and bring a fatigued single-asterisk counter of the same type back into play.
Q: How much do I fatigue if I play more than two asterisks in a Round (by using the POTION OF ENERGY to raise my effort limits)?
A: Each extra asterisk causes you to fatigue an extra counter that is the same type as that extra asterisk - so if you played four MOVE asterisks you would fatigue three MOVE counters, one for normal fatigue and two more for the two extra asterisks you played. You fatigue the counters one at a time, making change as you go.
Q: How do I fatigue if I play MOVE counters and a MAGIC counter (including a transformed color counter) in the same Round?
A: Calculate your MOVE fatigue by counting up your MOVE asterisks normally - in other words, just ignore the MAGIC counters. The transformed color counter fatigues at the end of that Round, and the MAGIC counter fatigues when the Spell expires (or at the end of the Round if the Spell expires during the Round).
Q: When does Combat end in a Clearing?
A: Combat ends if all of the following conditions are met for two consecutive Rounds:

1) No character, monster, native or horse is killed;
2) no combat counter is wounded or fatigued;
3) no Tremendous monster counter is red side up;
4) no Spells are Cast. The third condition can be ignored until the THIRD ENCOUNTER and the fourth condition can be ignored until the SIXTH

Q: lf two Sound counters simultaneously trigger the same box of monsters, where do the monsters go?
A: To the counter with the lower number. The next box (if any) would go to the next higher number, etc.
Q: Do the LOST CITY and LOST CASTLE counters ever trigger monsters?
A: No. (Unless the 'Deadly Realm' rules are being used.)
Q: If a character is hidden when he ends his turn, do active monsters on his tile still move to his Clearing and are active monsters from the APPEARANCE CHART still placed on his tile even though he is hidden?
A: Yes. Activated Monsters move into the character's Clearing and onto his tile even when he is hidden; if he is hidden they will not Block nor attack him, however.
Q: In what order do the characters in a Clearing choose the monsters that are placed on their MELEE sections? This is important when two characters want to choose the same monster, since the character who goes last can take the monster off of the other character's MELEE SECTION.
A: The characters select monsters in clockwise order around the board, starting with the character who moved first that day - the same order in which they play MOVE counters to run away.
Q: When a character is moving monsters onto his sheet, can he take a red-side-up Tremendous monster that is on another character's sheet?
A: No! A Tremendous monster that is red side up must remain on the sheet where he is located.
Q: What is the attack time and weight for the spear-carrying goblins when the side without attack values is face up?
A: They do not attack Blank values mean 'negligible' damage - no attack.
Q: If the non-red side of a Tremendous monster counter attacks, hits and kills the monster's target, is the Tremendous monster still turned red side up?
A: No.
Q: When the Demon or Winged Demon counter attacks, hits and rolls on the POWER OF THE PIT table, is it then turned red side up for the next Round of Combat?
A: Yes (unless its target is killed.)
Q: When two (or more) weapons with the same length and attack time simultaneously kill the same monster, who gets the FAME for killing that monster?
A: The FAME is divided equally between the characters making the simultaneous attacks. EXAMPLE: If three characters simultaneously kill a 10-point monster, it is as if each one had killed a monster worth 3 1/3 points. If the monster was the third kill of the day for one of the characters, he would triple his FAME gain and record 10 points for his part in the kill.
Q: What does the circled number on the red side of the Tremendous monsters mean?
A: This indicates that the attack kills automatically when it hits. The circled number is the attack's time number.

Q: If a character is Blocked before he takes his turn, can he still activate, inactivate, abandon and/or sell items he is carrying?
A: No.
Q: Can I use the DRAGONFANG NECKLACE to control another dragon if the dragon I was con-trolling is killed in combat?
A: Not until the next day. The necklace can control only one dragon per day and is still committed to that dragon even if it is killed.
Q: If I sell an item with FAME points on it, do I keep the FAME points?
A: No. The FAME and NOTORIETY points belong to the holder of the card (except for conditional FAME, which is gained by the character who delivers the card to the proper native group).
Q: Do the effects of a Potion treasure stop when the Potion card is discarded at the end of the day or are the effects permanent?
A: The effects stop when the card is discarded.
Q: Are the horses at the CRYPT and MEADOW killed if they are discovered in a Cave?
A: Yes.
Q: When the Witch King loots one of the TREASURES WITHIN TREASURES cards, does he use the MAGIC SIGHT table or the table printed on the set up chart?
A: The table on the set up chart.

Q: After the native groups are introduced, all of the armor and weapon counters are setup in the groups' boxes at the start of the game. Where do the characters get the armor and weapons with which they start the game?
A: Each character takes his starting armor and weapon counters from the native box(es) that contain them. If a character is entitled to a counter that is in several boxes he can choose which box to take it from - so a character entitled to a helmet could take it from the Company, Patrol, Soldiers or Guard.
Q: Can characters buy and sell damaged armor?
A: Yes, at full price as if it were not damaged.
Q: What happens if a character chooses one of his own hirelings as the target for a weapon attack?
A: The hireling's whole group is no longer under hire to that character and he must subtract their value from his recorded FAME and NOTORIETY (natives that are not under hire to him are not affected and he doesn't lose their value). The freed natives instantly start fighting like unhired natives; freed natives on other characters' or natives' MELEE SECTIONS stay there and attack, but if a freed native is on his own sheet all monsters and unhired natives there become uncommitted and all hired natives there return to their own sheets - and one of them can take the freed native's counter (if none of them take it then the freed native is uncommitted). No one has to roll to be battled when natives are freed, but the freed natives' group battles the owners of the sheets where they are placed and all characters who attack a group member, starting at the moment they are freed (so at the very least they will battle the character who doublecrossed them and all other characters who were attacking them at that moment). Since the natives are freed when targets are being chosen at the start of the melee step, monsters and natives that become uncommitted as a result will not be committed until the next Round's encounter step. At the end of the day the freed natives are returned to the locations where they started the game.
Q: What happens when a character chooses one of his hirelings as a target for a Spell?
A: If it is an attack Spell, it is treated like a weapon attack (see above). If it is any other Spell, the native stays hired and things proceed normally.
Q: What happens if a character places one of his hirelings' counters on another of his hirelings' MELEE SECTION, so they fight each other?
A: The owner of the MELEE SECTION stays loyal, but the other native is freed (along with the rest of his group) as if he were attacked by his owner (see previous two questions). In this case monsters and battling natives that become uncommitted are committed again that same Round, at the same time that other uncommitted monsters and natives are committed.
Q: If I leave my horse behind when I go into a Cave, can I leave a hired native with it to hold it so I need not search for it when I return?
A: No. You could leave a hired leader to guard the horse by Blocking anyone who moved in and tried to search for it, but he cannot hold the horse. (A hired captain could hold the horse, as explained in optional rule 5.5; also, you would not have to search if you cached the horse as explained in optional rule 4.1.)

Q: Can a Spell card at a Treasure location (e.g., the Altar), be freed and Cast in the same way Spells can be Cast by Artifacts?
A: No. They can only be learned and recorded.
Q: Exactly how can a Permanent Spell be broken?
A: In three ways: 1) by killing the target on whom it is Cast; 2) by killing the character who Cast the Permanent Spell; or 3) by using a Spell-breaking Spell such as REMEDY.
Q: When a Spell is Cast against a character who is riding a horse, does the Spell affect the horse or the rider?
A: Attack Spells inflict damage like weapons and so affect the horse, if it is played. Other Spells affect the rider directly although they may include the horse in their effects; for example, MELT INTO MIST affects a character and his items, including any horses he may have.
Q: How many times can I use a transformed color counter before it fatigues?
A: Only once, to enchant one tile, Cast one Spell or activate one Permanent Spell or Treasure.

Q: When a character uses the CRYSTAL BALL to execute a SPELL phase in a remote Clearing, can he use color magic that is present in that Clearing? Can he use color magic (including his own counters) that is present in his own Clearing?
A: Yes and yes, the color magic can come from either Clearing.
Q: Can ASK DEMON be used to ask a player's future intentions?
A: No.
Q: If ENCHANT ARTIFACT is used to add a Spell to an artifact, can that Spell be learned by reading runes?
A: Yes, but only when the ENCHANT ARTIFACT Spell is activated.
Q: Exactly how does MELT INTO MIST affect a character?
A: He cannot do any activities except MOVE (with Tremendous carrying capacity), he cannot Block nor be Blocked and he cannot attack nor be attacked with weapons or Spells. He can use hidden paths and secret passages freely as he moves (without discovering them). Otherwise he plays normally.
Q: Exactly how does MELT INTO MIST affect a native or monster?
A: The counter moves around normally but otherwise is ignored.
Q: Can counters that have been fatigued because of the WITHER curse be rested and brought back into play before the curse is removed?
A: No. The character can rest to change his wounds to fatigue but he cannot bring his asterisked counters into play until the curse is removed.
Q: Can REMEDY (or a similar Spell) be used to break a Spell in the same Round that that other Spell is Cast?
A: No, the target Spell must be in effect at the start of the Round
Q: If REMEDY is Cast on a character who is suffering from two curses, are both removed? If the same curse was inflicted twice, are both removed by one REMEDY?
A: No and yes. Each time REMEDY is Cast it removes any one curse (e.g., ASHES or DISGUST, but not both) no matter how many times the curse was inflicted.
Q: When rolling WISHES, can I accumulate 'I wish for strength' results so that my attack will inflict damage for several attacks in a row?
A: No. It is always the very next attack that is affected.
Q: Where does a garrison native go when I apply 'I wish you were elsewhere' results to him when he is already at his starting dwelling?
A: He stays where he is.
Q: What are the differences between hiring a monster and controlling a monster?
A: Hired monsters are treated like hired non-leaders - they cannot move, search or Block independently and they cannot carry items Controlled monsters are treated like hired leaders and can move, etc. independently and they can be ridden if they fly. Hired monsters remain loyal until their term of hire expires regardless of the expiration of the Spells that hired them, while controlled monsters stop being controlled when the Spell expires.

Q: How do I use a treasure or Spell that allows me to fly?
A: Use n as if it were a MOVE counter during an encounter step you can play it to run away or stop someone else from running away, during melee you can play it to do a maneuver and during movement you can use it to define your carrying capacity when you move, except you fly when you move.
Q: What are the values shown on the treasure or Spell?
A: The letter is the strength letter, showing the weight you can be carrying when you use the treasure or Spell. The number is the time number, which is used like a MOVE counter's time number if the Spell of treasure is used in a melee or encounter step. The 'FLY' indicates that if you use the treasure or Spell to leave the Clearing, either moving or running away, you fly from tile to tile instead of moving along the roadways.
Q: How do I use a Spell or treasure to fly away during combat?
A: Play it at the same time and under the same circumstances that you would play a MOVE counter to run away. If it's a treasure, play the card itself; if it's a Spell play the MAGIC counter you used to Cast the Spell. Assuming its time number is low enough to escape, instead of running halfway to the next Clearing you fly halfway to the next tile - you choose any adjacent tile, place your character counter half on that tile and you must start your next turn with a FLY phase either into that tile or back into the tile you are flying out of. Upon executing that FLY phase you must land before continuing your turn.
Q: How do I use it to maneuver or to stop someone else from running away?
A: You play the treasure card or MAGIC counter exactly as if it were a MOVE counter. You do not fly out of the Clearing.
Q: How do 1 use the treasure or Spell to fly from tile to tile during movement?
A: Record FLY phases and when you execute them display the card or MAGIC counter that allows you to fly. As long as you continue executing FLY phases you do not land; you must land as soon as you execute a non-FLY phase or end your turn
Q: Where do I land in the tile?
A: Roll a die and land in the Clearing that matches the roll. If no Clearing matches the roll, roll again.
Q: Can I Block or be Blocked while flying?
A: Not until you land.
Q: What are the differences between the different ways of flying?
A: HURRICANE WINDS can be used only to fly out of a Clearing, and it must be used on the Round after it goes into effect. BROOMSTICK can be used to fly in any of the ways described above and it can be used any time after the Spell is Cast and goes into effect, but it can be used only once before it expires (if you are flying from tile to tile it expires as soon as you land; otherwise it expires at the end of the encounter or melee step in which it is used). The FLYING CARPET can be used repeatedly any number of times, flying and landing, as long as it has been activated that day. Characters who are riding flying monsters can fly repeatedly as they move, but they cannot fly during combat; characters who have been turned into flying monsters can fly repeatedly during movement and combat.

Q: Can characters who have been transformed into birds, squirrels or frogs Block? Can they stop other characters from running away in combat?
A: Yes, yes.
Q: Can frogs, lions and squirrels move from one tile to another?
A: Yes, but they must use the roadways if they move from tile to tile.
Q: If a frog (or squirrel or lion) moves into a Clearing without using a roadway, where does he go if he runs away during combat that day?
A: If he is still a frog (or etc.) he goes into the woods in the tile. lf he has changed back into a character he cannot run away that day.
Q: I f a character moves into a Clearing on a roadway that vanishes (because the tile is enchanted later that day), where does he go if he runs away that day?
A: He cannot run away if the roadway has vanished or has been changed into a secret passage or hidden path that he cannot use.
Q: Where does a character go if he runs onto a roadway and the roadway vanishes (because the tile is enchanted) before he takes his next turn?
A: lf the roadway vanishes or turns into a hidden path or secret passage that the character cannot use, he goes on the woods in that tile.
Q: What happens when a character (not a frog, etc.) is not on a roadway or Clearing at the start of his turn - where can he go if he starts his turn out in the woods?
A: He must start his turn by moving back to the Clearing that he ran out of the previous day - i.e., the last Clearing that he was in.
Q: When a character has been turned into a monster (by TRANSFORM or ABSORB ESSENCE), does he move from Clearing to Clearing automatically like a monster or does he record moves like a character? Similarly, when a monster is transformed into a different monster is it treated like what it really is or like what it has been changed into) For example, when a wolf is changed into a dragon, is it active when the wolves are or when the dragons are?
A: A transformed character still moves like a character (except that he must FLY if he has been transformed into a flying monster). A transformed monster (or native) acts like what it really is - the transformed wolf is active when the wolves are, not when the dragons are.
Q: Can a character who has been turned into a monster or animal (by TRANSFORM or ABSORB ESSENCE) still use his weapons, Spells and combat counters?
A: No. he can carry items (subject to the monster/animal's carrying capacity) but they must be inactivated, and he must use the monster/animal's combat values.

Q: There are only six campaign/mission/visitor counters to place in the seven boxes on the APPEARANCE CHART. Which box is left empty?
A: That varies from game to game, depending on where the players place the counters. The player who places a counter can place it in any empty box; the box that is left when all six counters have been placed remains empty for that game.
Q: What is the reward for successfully completing a campaign?
A: There is no reward (except for not having to pay the campaign cost again). The only benefit you get for taking a campaign counter is the power you get by having all those allies.
Q: Can a character have one of his hired leaders deliver a mission counter?
A: Not unless optional rule 5.5 is being used, because without that rule the leader cannot record the gold he would be paid for the delivery.
Q: Where does a mission or campaign counter go when the month ends or the character carrying it is killed?
A: The counter is placed in the Clearing where the character is located (and the counter is turned over if it is the end of the month). Characters can pick up such counters when they are mission or campaign side up; if a character picks up a mission he determines where he is going and calculates his reward all over again, starting from the Clearing where he picks up his counter.
Q: Can a hired leader pick up a campaign or mission counter for his owner?
A: Yes It travels with the leader, who can give it to his owner when they are in the same Clearing, but it counts as belonging to the owner - so the leader could not take a campaign if his owner (or any of the owner's other hired leaders) already had a campaign that month.

Return back